Crime News

PSC Mandates Compulsory Retirement Of 4 DIGs Four Deputy Inspectors General

The Police Service Commission (PSC) said in exercising its legal authority under the 1999 Constitution’s Third Schedule, Part 1 M, paragraphs A&B, along with Section 6 of the Commissions (Establishment) Act 2001, paragraphs a, c, d, e, & f, it has enforced the compulsory retirement of four Deputy Inspectors General of Police, namely: Dan-Mallam Mohammed, Moses Ambakina Jitiboh, Hafiz Mohammed Inuwa, and Adeleke Adeyinka Bode.

Following the appointment of the acting Inspector General of Police, IGP Kayode Egbetokun, on June 19, 2023, by the President, the Commission had anticipated that, in accordance with the esteemed tradition of discipline and structured culture of the Nigeria Police Force, those DIGs who held higher ranks before his promotion would either voluntarily seek retirement or choose to exit the Force.

A press statement signed by Ikechukwu Ani

Head, Press and Public Relations on Monday stated that: “The Commission, having waited for ample time with no such application  from any of them, took the decision  to compulsorily retire them in order to uphold discipline which is the bedrock of the Force, and to discourage status reversal  which is inherently  inimical to the exercise of authority  by the Inspector General.

“Accordingly the former DIGs have been mandated to Immediately proceed on compulsory retirement  with effect from Friday, 25th August, 2023.The Commission appreciates their immense contributions  and efforts towards peace and security  of our country and also wishes them well in their future endeavours in retirement.

“Similarly, the Commission  also approved the appointment of four Assistant Inspectors General of Police to the rank of Deputy Inspectors General of Police  which would be subject to ratification by the Board of the Commission to replace the retired DIGs.

“The newly appointed DIGs who are without Pending Disciplinary Matters and/or without any serious medical conditions  and health impairments were drawn from the same respective geo-political regions of the retired ones.

“They are DIG’s Ibrahim Sani Ka’oje; Daniel  Sokari – Pedro, Ayuba Ekpeji, and Usman Nagogo.”

While congratulating them for their elevation to the enviable  rank of DIGs, the Commission  hopes that their appointment  will add value and greater vigour to the efforts of the Nigeria Police in delivering  on its mandate.

Related Posts